The Public Accounts Commission Press Notice

6th February 2008

Review of the Corporate Governance of the National Audit Office

The Public Accounts Commission is today publishing the review of the corporate governance of the National Audit Office, commissioned from John Tiner.

The Commission will publish its own observations on John Tiner's review shortly.

The review is published as an Appendix to the Commission's 14th report (HC 328).

NOTES FOR EDITORS: The Commission is appointed under the National Audit Act 1983 to oversee, and, if satisfied, lay before the House of Commons, the annual Estimates for the National Audit Office. It also examines once a year the NAO's Corporate Plan, which covers a three year period.

The Commission's members are:- Rt Hon Alan Williams (Chairman) (Labour, Swansea West), Mr Richard Bacon (Conservative, South Norfolk), Rt Hon Harriet Harman QC (Labour, Camberwell and Peckham), Mr Edward Leigh (Conservative, Gainsborough), Dr William McCrea (DUP, South Antrim), Mr John McFall (Labour, West Dunbartonshire), Mr Austin Mitchell (Labour, Great Grimsby), Dr Nick Palmer (Labour, Broxtowe) and Mr Andrew Tyrie (Conservative, Chichester).

CONTACT FOR THE COMMISSION: The Secretary of the Commission, Mr Dorian Gerhold, may be contacted on: 020 7219 6257.