Committee on the Office of the Deputy Prime Minister: Formal Minutes

Monday 31 October 2005

Members present:

Dr Phyllis Starkey, in the Chair

Sir Paul Beresford

Mr Clive Betts

Mr Martin Horwood

Mr Mark Lancaster

Anne Main

Mr Bill Olner

Dr John Pugh

Alison Seabeck

The Committee deliberated.


Stephen Alambritis, Head of Parliamentary Affairs Federation of Small Businesses (FSB) and Nick Bish, Chief Executive, Association of Licensed Multiple Retailers (ALMR), gave evidence;

Councillor Audrey Lewis, Chair, Licensing Sub-committee, Westminster City Council,  Andrew Fisher, Head, Licensing Unit and Tony Kelly, Project Manager, Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council, gave evidence;

Councillor Chloe Lambert, Deputy Chairperson and Patrick Crowley, Licensing Manager, Kensington and Chelsea, Advisor to LACORS, Local Government Association, Philip Kolvin, Chair and Jeffrey Lieb, Vice Chair, Institute of Licensing, gave evidence; and

James Purnell MP, Minister for Media and Tourism, Department for Culture, Media and Sport and Phil Woolas MP, Minister of State (Local Government), Office of the Deputy Prime Minister, gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till Monday 7 November at a half past Four o’clock.