Committee on the Office of the Deputy Prime Minister: Formal Minutes

Tuesday 31 January 2006

Members present:

Dr Phyllis Starkey, in the Chair

Sir Paul Beresford

Lyn Brown

John Cummings

Greg Hands

Mr Bill Olner

Dr John Pugh

Alison Seabeck

Ministerial Informal Summit on Sustainable Communities under the UK Presidency

Agreed, that the memorandum relating to the Informal Ministerial Meeting on Sustainable Communities which took place in Bristol last December, be reported to the House and placed on the Committee’s website.

Evidence Session on the Fire and Rescue Service

Paul Young, Chief Fire Officer, Councillor David Browne, and Mrs Sue Smith, Deputy Chief Officer, Devon Fire and Rescue Authority; gave oral evidence;

Ms Valerie Shawcross, Chair, Ken Knight, Commissioner for Fire and Emergency Planning, and Ray Dobson, Acting Deputy Commissioner for Fire and Emergency Planning, London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority (LFEPA); gave oral evidence; and

County Councillor Bob Wilkinson, Chair of Lancashire Combined Fire Authority, Peter Holland, Chief Fire Officer, and Chris Kenny, Director of Support Services, Lancashire Fire and Rescue Service, Lancashire Combined Fire Authority; gave oral evidence.

 [Adjourned till Monday 6 February at twenty past Four o’clock.