ODPM Press Notice

Session 2002-03  16 May 2003


The Urban Affairs Sub-Committee on the Office of the Deputy Prime Minister: Housing, Planning, Local Government and the Regions will be hearing evidence for its inquiry into Living Places: Cleaner, Safer, Greener on the following dates:

Tuesday 20th May


Local Government Association (LGA)

Dame Sally Powell, Hammersmith and Fulham Councillor / Lead Member for transformation of the local environment at the LGA

Malcolm Smith, Director of Environment at London Borough of Newham / LGA advisor


Living Streets

Tom Franklin, Director

Philip Connolly, London Manager

Urban Design Alliance

John Hopkins,  Member of Urban Design Alliance's Green Spaces Working Group


Commission for Architecture and the Built Environment (CABE)

Jon Rouse, Chief Executive

Jayne Hilditch, Director of Resources

Wednesday 4th June (Final Evidence Session)


Heritage Lottery Fund

Lorna McRobie, Policy Advisor for Landscapes

New Opportunities Fund

Stephen Dunmore, Chief Executive


Rt Hon Richard Caborn MP, Minister of State, Department for Cultre, Media and Sport

Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Minister of State, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Tony McNulty MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary, Office of the Deputy Prime Minister

Rt Hon John Spellar MP, Minister of State, Department of Transport

The evidence sessions will take place in public, unless otherwise decided by the Committee, in a Committee Room at the House of Commons.  Those wishing to attend the meeting should check the venue by contacting the Committee Office Information Line on 020 7219 2033 on the day before the hearing. If you would  like a copy of any House of Commons publications, and did not submit written or oral evidence to the relevant inquiry, then you may purchase them from The Stationery Office, General enquiries tel no.0870 600 5522, or access them via the Committee homepage on the Internet



Libby Preston, Assistant Clerk, 020 7 219 3290 / prestonl@parliament.uk

Ben Kochan, Committee Specialist, 020 7 219 1342 / kochanb@parliament.uk