North West Committee

Session 2009-10

3 February 2010

Future of the Nuclear Industry in the North West - MPs hear evidence

4.15pm, Monday 8 February, Committee Room 17, House of Commons

MPs on the Select Committee for the North West will hear evidence on the Future of the Nuclear Industry in the North West at the House of Commons on Monday 8 February as part of the Committee’s second inquiry.


Jean Llewelyn, Chief Executive, National Skills Academy for Nuclear
Dr Graham Baldwin, North West Universities Association
Mike Graham  National Secretary, Prospect
Rupert Steele, Director of Regulation, Scottish Power

Fergus McMorrow, Chief Executive, Copeland Borough Council
David Hayes, Cumbria Vision
Richard Leafe, Chief Executive, Lake District National Park

Martin Forwood, Campaign Coordinator, CORE
Councillor Ralph Pryke, Chair of the Nuclear Free Local Authorities England Forum

The inquiry is looking into:

€ the effect of expanding the nuclear industry on the North West, including the impact on: the economy, jobs, skills, local and regional business and the environment;

€ the role of regional universities and education bodies in supporting the nuclear industry in the region;

€ what support is needed to maximise the potential benefits for businesses in the region;

€ what improvements to the regional infrastructure will be needed, including during the construction phase;

€ what are the arguments for and against each of the proposed four sites announced on Monday 9 November;

€ what lessons can be learnt from earlier commissioning experiences; and the role of regional bodies, and partnership arrangements between such bodies, in maximising the potential benefits and minimising the negative impacts of expanding the nuclear industry in the North West.


All of the MPs on the North West Committee have constituencies in the region. The membership is as follows, David Crausby MP for Bolton North East (Chair of the Committee), Rosie Cooper MP for West Lancashire, Tony Lloyd MP for Manchester Central, Eric Martlew MP for Carlisle, and Geraldine Smith MP for Morecombe and Lunesdale.

Regional Committees:

On 12 November 2008 the House resolved: "that this House welcomes the Third Report from the Select Committee on Modernisation of the House of Commons on Regional Accountability (House of Commons Paper No. 282); approves the proposals for regional select and grand committees for each of the English regions set out in the response from the Government in the White Paper, Regional Accountability (Cm. 7376), except that Chairmen of regional select committees shall not be paid; accordingly endorses the clear expectation that the regional select committees should meet significantly less frequently than departmental select committees; and considers that the combination of select committees providing opportunities for inquiries and reports into regional policy and administration together with opportunities for debate involving all honourable Members from the relevant region will provide a major step forward in the scrutiny of regional policy." Debate can be found here:
12 November 2008

Committee Information: Gosia McBride e:mail Tel: 020 7219 3258
Media enquiries tel: 0207 219 0898 e:mail
Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:
Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on