Northern Ireland Affairs Committee: Formal Minutes

Formal Minutes No. 23

Wednesday 3 May 2006

Members present:

Sir Patrick Cormack (Chairman)

Mr David Anderson
Mr Gordon Banks
Mr Gregory Campbell
Rosie Cooper
Mr Christopher Fraser
Mr John Grogan
Mr Stephen Hepburn
Lady Hermon
Meg Hillier
Dr Alasdair McDonnell
Stephen Pound
Sammy Wilson

1. Proposed visit to Northern Ireland , 7- 9 May

The Committee considered this matter.

2. Future programme

The Committee considered this matter.

3. Consideration of Organised Crime in Northern Ireland 

The Committee considered this matter.

4. Organised Crime  in Northern Ireland

Mr John McGrath, Head of Regeneration Directorate, Mr Dave Wall, Head of the Voluntary and Community Division (Charities), Ms Linda MacHugh, Head of the Urban Regeneration Strategy (Liquor Licensing), and Mr John Nevin, responsible for security fraud, including social security fraud, Department for Social Development (DSD), gave evidence.

 [Adjourned till Wednesday 10 May at half past Two o’clock.