Northern Ireland Affairs Committee: Formal Minutes

Formal Minutes No. 15

Wednesday 1 February 2006

Members present:

Sir Patrick Cormack (Chairman)

David Anderson
Mr Gregory Campbell
Rosie Cooper
Mr Christopher Fraser
John Grogan
Mr Stephen Hepburn
Meg Hillier
Dr Alasdair McDonnell
Mr Stephen Pound
Sammy Wilson

1. Future inquiries

The Committee considered this matter.

2. Education in Northern Ireland:

Draft Report (Education in Northern Ireland)

(The Minutes of Proceedings relating to the consideration of the Report are published in the First Report from the Committee, HC726 (2005-06)  p.9).

3. Organised Crime in  Northern Ireland

Nigel Smyth, Director, CBI Northern Ireland and Wilfred Mitchell OBE, Chairman, and Glyn Roberts, Federation of Small Businesses, gave oral evidence.

Tom Wilson, Manager of the Freight Transport Association and Mrs Val Smith, Regional Chairman of the Road Haulage Association Ltd, gave oral evidence.

Evidence in private

The Committee heard further oral evidence in private.

 [Adjourned till Wednesday 8 February at half past Nine o’clock.