Formal minutes

Wednesday 9 February 2005

Members present:

Mr Michael Mates (in the Chair), Mr Roy Beggs, Mr Tony Clarke, Mr Stephen Hepburn, Mr Iain Luke, Mr Stephen Pound, Rev. Martin Smyth

The Committee deliberated.

Draft Report (The Functions of the Office of the Police Ombudsman for Northern Ireland)

(The Minutes of Proceedings relating to the consideration of the Report are published in the Fifth Report from the Committee, HC 108 (2004-05) p. 29).

Reconciliation: Ways of dealing with Northern Ireland's past:  Ms Avila Kilmurray, Director, Community Foundation for Northern Ireland, and Dr Duncan Morrow, Chief Executive Officer, Community Relations Council for Northern Ireland, were examined.

Mr Mark Thompson, Director, Ms Claire Reilly, Chairperson, and Mr John Loughran, Relatives for Justice, Mr Tom Holland, Founder, Ardoyne Commemoration Project, Mr Mike Ritchie, Director, Coiste n-Iarchimi, and Ms Bernice Swift, Project Manager, Firinne, were examined.

 [Adjourned till Monday 21 February at half past Two o'clock.