Northern Ireland Affairs Committee Press Notice

Session 05-06
12 January 2006

Press Notice No 7



The Committee is publishing a letter from the Attorney General that was sent to the Chairman of the Committee in reply to his letter seeking clarification of the decision by the Director of the Public Prosecution Service for Northern Ireland not to proceed with prosecutions. The Committee felt the letter was of sufficient importance to be published immediately.

The Eighth Special Report will be published at midday on Monday 16 January.  Copies can be obtained upon request from the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee on 0207 219 2172. The Special Report can be viewed on the Committee’s website from time of publication at:

NOTE FOR EDITORS:  The Committee is appointed under Standing Order No. 152 of the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Northern Ireland Office and associated public bodies.  It has the power to send for persons, papers and records.

The Committee Members are:- Sir Patrick Cormack, MP (Chairman) (Conservative, South Staffordshire), Mr David Anderson, MP (Labour, Blaydon), Gordon Banks, MP (Labour, Ochil and South Perthshire), Mr Gregory Campbell, MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Londonderry), Rosie Cooper, MP (Labour, West Lancashire), Mr Christopher Fraser, MP (Conservative, South West Norfolk), Mr John Grogan, MP (Labour, Selby), Mr Stephen Hepburn, MP (Labour, Jarrow), Lady Hermon, MP (Ulster Unionist Party, North Down), Meg Hillier, MP (Labour/Co-op, Hackney South and Shoreditch), Dr Alasdair McDonnell, MP (SDLP, Belfast South), Stephen Pound, MP (Labour, Ealing North), Sammy Wilson, MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Antrim)