Northern Ireland Affairs Committee: Press Notices

Session 05-06

23 October 2006

Press Notice No 23

Organised Crime in Northern Ireland

Publication of the Government's response to the Third Report of the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee, Session 2005-06

The Northern Ireland Affairs Committee has today published the Government's response to its Third Report of Session 2005-06 on Organised Crime in Northern Ireland as its Ninth Special Report (HC 1642, Session 2005-06).

Sir Patrick Cormack MP, Chairman of the Committee, said

"I welcome the fact that the Government has taken the Report so seriously and I look forward to discussing the recommendations and response further with the Secretary of State and Mr Paul Goggins, the responsible Minister. I will urge both Ministers to look particularly closely at the Guidelines for Community Restorative Justice Schemes, which are currently the subject of a government consultation and which the Committee itself has decided to examine. I will also ask Ministers to re-examine their response to the Committee's recommendations on fuel duties because this issue has not been sufficiently positively addressed in the response."

Information about the inquiry, together with other information about the Committee's work, is available on the Committee's Homepage.

For further information about the work of the Committee, please contact Paul Derrett, Assistant to the Committee, on 020 7219 2173 or e-mail

NOTE FOR EDITORS: The Committee is appointed under Standing Order No. 152 of the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Northern Ireland Office and associated public bodies. It has the power to send for persons, papers and records.

The Committee Members are:- Sir Patrick Cormack, MP (Chairman) (Conservative, South Staffordshire), Mr David Anderson, MP (Labour, Blaydon),Mr John Battle MP (Labour, Leeds West), Mr Gregory Campbell, MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Londonderry), Rosie Cooper, MP (Labour, West Lancashire), Mr Christopher Fraser, MP (Conservative, South West Norfolk), Mr John Grogan, MP (Labour, Selby), Mr Stephen Hepburn, MP (Labour, Jarrow), Lady Hermon, MP (Ulster Unionist Party, North Down), Dr Alasdair McDonnell, MP (SDLP, Belfast South), Mr Denis Murphy MP (Labour, Wansbeck) Mr Stephen Pound, MP (Labour, Ealing North),Mr Sammy Wilson, MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Antrim)