Northern Ireland Affairs Committee: Press Notices

Session 05-06

13 October 2006

Press Notice No 19




The Northern Ireland Affairs Committee decided in March that, following its inquiry into Organised Crime, it would conduct an inquiry into tourism in Northern Ireland and its economic impact and benefits. The inquiry's terms of reference are to examine:

The nature of tourism in Northern Ireland, its impact and importance for the overall economy, and the effectiveness of measures taken by Government and other relevant agencies to develop, promote and support the marketing of Northern Ireland as a tourist destination.

The Northern Ireland Affairs Committee has decided to visit Northern Ireland on 16-19 October as part of its intensive investigation into tourism in Northern Ireland as a preliminary to producing another major report. The Committee has a very full programme of meetings in Northern Ireland and will hold discussions with those responsible for the care, maintenance and promotion of Northern Ireland's most important tourist attractions, in addition to meeting others concerned with the tourist industry.

The programme of the visit will include: meetings with Belfast City Council, Larne Borough Council, Derry City Council, Fermanagh District Council, Armagh City Council, the Northern Ireland Tourist Board, Tourism Ireland and the National Trust in addition to local representatives of the tourist industry. The Committee will also make visits to and receive briefings at sites along the Antrim Coast; the Ulster American Folk Park, Omagh; Belle Isle Cookery School, Enniskillen; St Patrick's Centre, Downpatrick and Downpatrick Cathedral; meetings with National Trust.

Interviews and photo opportunities may be available. Please call Laura Kibby, Media Officer, House of Commons on 0207 219 0718

NOTE FOR EDITORS: The Committee is appointed under Standing Order No. 152 of the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Northern Ireland Office and associated public bodies. It has the power to send for persons, papers and records.

The Committee Members are:- Sir Patrick Cormack, MP (Chairman) (Conservative, South Staffordshire), Mr David Anderson, MP (Labour, Blaydon), Gordon Banks, MP (Labour, Ochil and South Perthshire), Mr Gregory Campbell, MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Londonderry), Rosie Cooper, MP (Labour, West Lancashire), Mr Christopher Fraser, MP (Conservative, South West Norfolk), Mr John Grogan, MP (Labour, Selby), Mr Stephen Hepburn, MP (Labour, Jarrow), Lady Hermon, MP (Ulster Unionist Party, North Down), Meg Hillier, MP (Labour/Co-op, Hackney South and Shoreditch), Dr Alasdair McDonnell, MP (SDLP, Belfast South), Stephen Pound, MP (Labour, Ealing North), Sammy Wilson, MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Antrim)