Northern Ireland Affairs Committee: Press Notice

Session 05-06

30 June 2006

Press Notice No 18

Organised Crime in Northern Ireland


Wednesday 5 July 2006

The Northern Ireland Affairs Committee Third  Report of the 2005-06 Session, on Organised Crime in Northern Ireland will be published on Wednesday 5 July at 11.00 am. There will be a Press Conference at 11.00 at The Navan Centre, Armagh, Northern Ireland. Admittance to the Press Conference will be by invitation only.  If you wish to attend please call the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee on 020 7 2192173.

Announcing the publication of this report the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee Chairman Sir Patrick Cormack said: “During our inquiry we travelled extensively in Northern Ireland and visited the Republic, taking evidence from a wide variety of individuals and organisations and having a number of private and informal meetings.”

“In recognition of the help and cooperation the Committee received from all over Northern Ireland we have decided to launch the report outside Belfast. This is the first time the Committee has adopted this course, but because organised crime is something which affects every community, we thought it appropriate.”

“We would like to thank all those who helped us reach a clear understanding of what are often complex and difficult issues.”

Copies of the Report will be available for witnesses who gave evidence and the press under embargo, from 9.30am at the Navan Centre, Armagh, from the Rotunda suite, Europa Hotel, Belfast, and from the Press Gallery, House of  Commons.

On the day of publication limited copies can be obtained upon request from the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee at 11.00 am.  The Report can also be viewed on the Committee’s website at:

from approximately 3.30pm on the day of publication and will also be available at the Stationery Office in Belfast (02890 238451).

Copies of the report will automatically be sent to witnesses who gave oral or written evidence to the inquiry.

Media representatives who would like to receive a PDF copy of the report should contact the Select Committee media officer Laura Kibby on 0207 219 0718 or 07917 488 557.

NOTE FOR EDITORS:  The Committee is appointed under Standing Order No. 152 of the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Northern Ireland Office and associated public bodies.  It has the power to send for persons, papers and records.

The Committee Members are:- Sir Patrick Cormack, MP (Chairman) (Conservative, South Staffordshire), Mr David Anderson, MP (Labour, Blaydon), Gordon Banks, MP (Labour, Ochil and South Perthshire), Mr Gregory Campbell, MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Londonderry), Rosie Cooper, MP (Labour, West Lancashire), Mr Christopher Fraser, MP (Conservative, South West Norfolk), Mr John Grogan, MP (Labour, Selby), Mr Stephen Hepburn, MP (Labour, Jarrow), Lady Hermon, MP (Ulster Unionist Party, North Down), Meg Hillier, MP (Labour/Co-op, Hackney South and Shoreditch), Dr Alasdair McDonnell, MP (SDLP, Belfast South), Stephen Pound, MP (Labour, Ealing North), Sammy Wilson, MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Antrim)