Northern Ireland Affairs Committee Press Notices Session 2007-08

Session 07-08

19 May 2008

Press Notice No 14

Policing and Criminal Justice in Northern Ireland

The following evidence session has been arranged as part of the above inquiry:

Wednesday 21 May 2008

Committee Room 8, Palace of Westminster

3.00 pm:

Paul Goggins MP, Minister of State, Northern Ireland Office

The Northern Ireland Affairs Committee is conducting a broad inquiry into the administration of policing and the criminal justice system in Northern Ireland. The first phase of this inquiry will focus on two specific areas of current concern:

• The financial and operational consequences for the Police Service Northern Ireland of servicing the various ‘historic inquiries’ into past events in Northern Ireland; and

• The effect on the ability of the Police Service Northern Ireland to bring accused persons to trial of provisions in the Inquiries Act 2005 and in other legislation requiring the police to divulge information which might identify a covert source

The Committee regrets that it is unable to investigate individual cases in the course of the inquiry.

1. Committee Membership is as follows: Sir Patrick Cormack MP (Chairman) (Conservative, South Staffordshire), Mr David Anderson MP (Labour, Blaydon), Mr Gregory Campbell MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Londonderry), Rosie Cooper MP (Labour, West Lancashire), Mr Christopher Fraser MP (Conservative, South West Norfolk), Mr John Grogan MP (Labour, Selby), Mr Stephen Hepburn MP (Labour, Jarrow), Lady Hermon MP (Ulster Unionist Party, North Down), Kate Hoey MP (Labour, Vauxhall), Dr Alasdair McDonnell MP (SDLP, Belfast South), Mr Denis Murphy MP (Labour, Wansbeck), Stephen Pound MP (Labour, Ealing North), Mr Sammy Wilson MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Antrim)

Media Enquiries: Committee Media Officer: Rebecca Jones, email:, tel: 020 7219 5693

Specific Committee Information:  The Committee intends to publish the transcript of these meetings on its Homepage approximately two weeks after the meeting.  For further information about the work of the Committee, please contact Duma Langton, Assistant to the Committee, on 020 7219 2173 or e-mail

Committee Website:

 Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on