Northern Ireland Affairs Committee: Press Notice

Session 06-07

19 March 2007

Press Notice No 14



The Northern Ireland Affairs Committee has decided to conduct an inquiry into the Northern Ireland Prison Service.

The terms of reference are:

To conduct an inquiry into the operation of the Northern Ireland Prison Service, in particular to examine whether the existing prison estate is adequate and appropriate for the secure accommodation of Northern Ireland’s prisoners, and whether the Prison Service appropriately meets the health and education and training needs of prisoners. The Committee will also examine such other issues as may arise in the course of the inquiry.

The Committee regrets that it is unable to investigate individual cases in the course of the inquiry.

The Committee wishes to invite any individual or organisation with an interest in this matter to submit written evidence.  This should be addressed to the Clerk of the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee, 7 Millbank, House of Commons, London SW1P 3JA and should arrive by Friday 27 April 2007.

Individuals or organisations are requested to submit memoranda (guideline length up to 2000 words) in a Word file or by e-mail to with a single additional hard copy in the post. Those without access to a computer are respectfully requested to take particular care that submissions are legible. Written evidence submitted to the Committee should be kept confidential until published by the Committee.

NOTE FOR EDITORS:  The Committee is appointed under Standing Order No. 152 of the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Northern Ireland Office and associated public bodies.  It has the power to send for persons, papers and records.

The Committee Members are:- Sir Patrick Cormack, MP (Chairman) (Conservative, South Staffordshire), Mr David Anderson, MP (Labour, Blaydon), Rt. Hon John Battle MP (Labour, Leeds West), Mr Gregory Campbell, MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Londonderry), Rosie Cooper, MP (Labour, West Lancashire), Mr Christopher Fraser, MP (Conservative, South West Norfolk), Mr John Grogan, MP (Labour, Selby), Mr Stephen Hepburn, MP (Labour, Jarrow), Lady Hermon, MP (Ulster Unionist Party, North Down), Dr Alasdair McDonnell, MP (SDLP, Belfast South), Mr Denis Murphy MP (Labour, Wansbeck) Mr Stephen Pound, MP (Labour, Ealing North),Mr Sammy Wilson, MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Antrim)