Northern Ireland Affairs Committee: Press Notice

Session 05-06

6 February 2006

Press Notice No 10



The Northern Ireland Affairs Committee First Report of the 2005-06 Session, Education in Northern Ireland (HC 726), will be published on Thursday 9 February at midday.

The Committee’s Chairman, Sir Patrick Cormack, said “We decided that, whilst it would not be appropriate to launch a major inquiry into the reorganisation of secondary education in Northern Ireland at this late stage, we would give various interested parties an opportunity to submit written evidence and to appear before us. This we have done, and we are pleased to publish, with this Report, all the written and oral evidence we have received as further valuable contributions to the continuing debate on secondary education in Northern Ireland.”


Advance copies of the Report are not available. If you would like a copy of the report, but do not hold a press pass, then you may purchase it from The Stationery Office in Belfast

(tel: 02890 238451) or London (08457 023474). The text of the report will also be available on the Committee’s website from midday on the day of publication (

Witnesses will be sent a copy by post the following day.

Media representatives who would like to receive a PDF copy of the report should contact

Laura Kibby on 0207 219 0718.

The Committee Members are:- Sir Patrick Cormack, MP (Chairman) (Conservative, South Staffordshire), Mr David Anderson, MP (Labour, Blaydon), Gordon Banks, MP (Labour, Ochil and South Perthshire), Mr Gregory Campbell, MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Londonderry), Rosie Cooper, MP (Labour, West Lancashire), Mr Christopher Fraser, MP (Conservative, South West Norfolk), Mr John Grogan, MP (Labour, Selby), Mr Stephen Hepburn, MP (Labour, Jarrow), Lady Hermon, MP (Ulster Unionist Party, North Down), Meg Hillier, MP (Labour/Co-op, Hackney South and Shoreditch), Dr Alasdair McDonnell, MP (SDLP, Belfast South), Stephen Pound, MP (Labour, Ealing North), Sammy Wilson, MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Antrim)