Northern Ireland Affairs Committee: Press Notice

Session 05-06

21 November 2005

Press Notice No 5


to be held in Belfast and Londonderry, Northern Ireland

Monday 28 November 2005


BELFAST - The Senate Chamber, Parliament Buildings, Stormont

09.30 am:   
Mr WSF Young, Headmaster, Belfast Royal Academy
Mr Peter Cosgrove, Concerned Parents For Education
Sir Kenneth Bloomfield, Confederation of Grammar Schools Former Pupils Associations
Mr Finbar McCallion, Governing Bodies Association
Dr Hugh Morrison, Expert Witness

10.50 am:
Mr Donal Flanagan, Chief Executive, The Council for Catholic Maintained Schools
Mr Jim Clarke, Deputy Chief Executive
Margaret Martin, Principal, St Catherine’s College, Armagh

2.45 pm:
Ms Maggie Andrews, East Belfast Partnership
Sammy Douglas, East Belfast Partnership
Jackie Redpath, Greater Shankill Partnership
John McVicar, Greater Shankill Partnership

3.30 pm:
Mr Norman Uprichard, Former Principal Newtownbreda High School
Mr Jim Keith, Principal, Belfast Boys Model School
Mr Uel McCrea, Principal Ballyclare Secondary School

Tuesday 29 November 2005


LONDONDERRY - The Council Chamber, Guildhall

11.45 am:
Greg McConnell, Review of Public Administration Team
Debbie Donnelly, Review of Public Administration Team
Dr Tom Frawley, Chairman of the Panel of Independent Experts
Desmond Mitchell, Member of the Panel of Independent Experts
Eddie Rooney, Department of Education
Paul Simpson, Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety

The meetings will be open to the public.

Information about the inquiry, together with other information about the Committee’s work, is available on the Committee’s Homepage at:

The Committee intends to publish the transcript of this meetings on its Homepage approximately two weeks after the meeting.  For further information about the work of the Committee, please contact Paul Derrett, Assistant to the Committee, on 020 7219 2173 or e-mail                       

NOTE FOR EDITORS:  The Committee is appointed under Standing Order No. 152 of the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Northern Ireland Office and associated public bodies.  It has the power to send for persons, papers and records.

The Committee Members are:- Sir Patrick Cormack, MP (Chairman) (Conservative, South Staffordshire), Mr David Anderson, MP (Labour, Blaydon), Gordon Banks, MP (Labour, Ochil and South Perthshire), Mr Gregory Campbell, MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Londonderry), Rosie Cooper, MP (Labour, West Lancashire), Mr Christopher Fraser, MP (Conservative, South West Norfolk), Mr John Grogan, MP (Labour, Selby), Mr Stephen Hepburn, MP (Labour, Jarrow), Lady Hermon, MP (Ulster Unionist Party, North Down), Meg Hillier, MP (Labour/Co-op, Hackney South and Shoreditch), Dr Alasdair McDonnell, MP (SDLP, Belfast South), Stephen Pound, MP (Labour, Ealing North), Sammy Wilson, MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Antrim