Northen Ireland Affairs Committee

Session 2003-2004

3 September 2004


MAIN COMMITTEE - Hate Crime in Northern Ireland

Following Press Notice 41, issued on 21 July, further details are now available:

Date: Monday 13 September (morning session)

Time: 11.00 - 13.00


Northern Ireland Office (NIO), Office of the First and Deputy First Minister (OFMDFM), Department of Education;

Voluntary organisations: Community Foundation for Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland Association for the Care and Resettlement of Offenders (NIACRO), Northern Ireland Council  for Voluntary Action (NICVA), Community Relations Council (CRC)

Location: Europa Hotel, Belfast

Date: Monday 13 September (afternoon session)

Time: 14.15 - 17.00


Trade unions: Northern Ireland Public Service Alliance (NIPSA), Unison, Northern Ireland Committee of the Irish Congress of Trade Unions (ICTU);

Confederation of British Industry;

Community Relations Officers: Belfast City Council, Down District Council, Strabane District Council;

Community and Victims groups: Falls Community Council, Duncrun Cultural Initiative, Shankill Stress and Trauma Group, Community Restorative Justice, Greater Shankill Alternatives, Interaction Belfast

Location: Europa Hotel, Belfast

Date: Tuesday 14 September

Time: 10.30 - 12.30


Church leaders: The Most Rev Rt Hon Lord Eames, Archbishop Sean Brady, Rev Dr Brian Fletcher, Rev Dr Ken Newell

Young People and the future: Tim Parry and Johnathan Ball Trust, Glen Cree Centre for Reconcilation; Dr Paul Connolly, Queen’s University, Belfast; Mr Barney McNeany, Acting Northern Ireland Commissioner for Children and Young People; Young people from the JEDI Project (Joined In Equity, Diversity and Interdependence)

Location: Europa Hotel, Belfast