Northern Ireland Affairs Committee: Press Notice

Session 05-06

19 October 2005

Press Notice No 2

Oral Evidence Sessions

House of Commons

Wednesday 26 October in Committee Room 8 at 4pm*.

Political and Security Developments in Northern Ireland

The Committee will hear oral evidence from the Rt Hon Peter Hain MP, Secretary of State for Northern Ireland


Wednesday 9 November in Committee Room 16 at 4.30pm*.

The Police Service of Northern Ireland

The Committee will hear oral evidence from Sir Hugh Orde, Chief Constable, Police Service of  Northern Ireland


The meetings will be open to the public.  They will take place in a Committee Room either in the Palace of Westminster or in Portcullis House or as otherwise stated.  Those wishing to attend should confirm the venue by calling the House of Commons Committee Information Line on 020 7219 2033 on the day before the hearing*.  Information about the inquiry, together with other information about the Committee’s work, is available on the Committee’s Homepage at:

The Committee intends to publish the transcript of these meetings on its Homepage approximately two weeks after the meeting.  For further information about the work of the Committee, please contact Paul Derrett, Assistant to the Committee, on 020 7219 2173 or e-mail                       

NOTE FOR EDITORS:  The Committee is appointed under Standing Order No. 152 of the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Northern Ireland Office and associated public bodies.  It has the power to send for persons, papers and records.

The Committee Members are:- Sir Patrick Cormack, MP (Chairman) (Conservative, South Staffordshire), Mr David Anderson, MP (Labour, Blaydon), Gordon Banks, MP (Labour, Ochil and South Perthshire), Mr Gregory Campbell, MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Londonderry), Rosie Cooper, MP (Labour, West Lancashire), Mr Christopher Fraser, MP (Conservative, South West Norfolk), Mr John Grogan, MP (Labour, Selby), Mr Stephen Hepburn, MP (Labour, Jarrow), Lady Hermon, MP (Ulster Unionist Party, North Down), Meg Hillier, MP (Labour/Co-op, Hackney South and Shoreditch), Dr Alasdair McDonnell, MP (SDLP, Belfast South), Stephen Pound, MP (Labour, Ealing North), Sammy Wilson, MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Antrim)