House of Lords Science and Technology Committee

Sub-Committee I

Waste Reduction

Oral Evidence

Audio and video webcast recordings of public meetings are available at for 28 days.

13 May 2008: Ms Joan Ruddock MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary for Defra, Mr Ian Pearson MP, Minister of State for Science & Innovation, DIUS, Mr Malcolm Wicks MP, Minister of State for Energy, BERR.

6 May 2008: Ms Gilli Hobbs, Director of Resource Efficiency, Building Research Establishment; Mr Andrew Swain, United Kingdom Environmental Advisor, Aggregate Industries; and Mr Cal Bailey, Marketing and Sustainability Director, NG Bailey (representing the Specialist Engineers Contractors' Group); Mr Chris Sexton, Head of Engineering, Laing O'Rourke; Ms Lesley Seymour, Associate and Sustainable Development Consultant, Buro Happold (representing the Institution of Civil Engineers); Mr Rainer Zimmann, Associate Director, Arup.

1 April 2008: Mr Steve Franklin, Senior Manager, Environment Group, The Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders Limited; Mr Jerry Hardcastle, Vice-President, Vehicle Design and Development, Nissan Technical Centre Europe; and Mr Peter Stokes, Vehicle Compliance Manager, GS Product Technical Group Services, Volkswagen Group United Kingdom Limited and Chairman of the Consortium for Automotive Recycling (CARE).

18 March 2008: Professor Sue Grimes, Centre for Environmental Control and Waste Management, Imperial College London; Dr Norman Swindells, Chairman, Sustainable Development Group, The Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining; Mr Malcolm Wilkinson, Chairman, Sustainability Subject Group, The Institution of Chemical Engineers; and Dr Andrew Craig; Principal Policy Officer, Local Authority Recycling Advisory Committee; Mr Peter Jones, Director, Biffa Waste Services Ltd; Mr Christopher Murphy, Deputy Chief Executive, The Chartered Institution of Wastes Management; Mr Martin Wheatley, Programme Director, Local Government Association.

11 March 2008: Ms Julie Hill (Associate, Green Alliance), Miss Hannah Hislop (Policy Officer, Green Alliance), Mr Andrew Lee (Director, Sustainable Development Commission), and Ms Sue Dibb, (Team Leader for Sustainable Consumption and Business, Sustainable Development Commission).

4 March 2008: Mr Stephen Carter, Packaging Sustainability Director, Unilever; Dr Forbes McDougall, Environmental Manager, Proctor and Gamble; Ms Jane Bickerstaffe, Director, Industry Council for Packaging and the Environment (INCPEN); Dr Robert Chilton, Board Member, National Consumer Council; and Mr Paul Ozanne, National Recycling Co-ordinater, Salvation Army; Mr Mike Barry, Head of Corporate Responsibility, Marks and Spencer; Mr Alan Wheeler, National Liaison Manager, Textile Recycling Association; and Mr Brian McCarthy, Technitex.

26 February 2008: Dr Peter Hedges, Head of Economy, Environment and Crime, The Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council; Dr John Whittall, Lead Technologist, Sustainable Technologies, Technology Strategy Board; Mr Arnold Black, Network Director, Resource Efficiency Knowledge Transfer Network; Mr Jeremy Tait, Programme Manager, Market Transformation Programme.

5 February 2008: Evidence was heard from Mrs Lesley Morris, Head of Skills, Design Council, Dr Frank O'Connor, Director, Ecodesign Centre Wales, Dr Tracy Bhamra, Reader in Sustainable Design & Research Co-ordinator, Department of Design & Technology, Loughborough University, and Ms Clare Brass, Founder, Social Environmental Enterprise and Design (SEED) Foundation; and Miss Holly McCain and Miss Lizzie Dutton, The RED Initiative, De Montfort University, Mr Mark Adams, Managing Director, Vitsoe, and Dr Jonathan Chapman, Senior Lecturer in 3D Design, University of Brighton.

29 January 2008: Evidence was heard from Mr Andrew Clack, Environmental Affairs and Corporate Social Responsibility Advisor, Panasonic UK Ltd, Mr Peter Evans, Senior Manager Environment, Sony UK Ltd, Dr Kirstie McIntyre, Head of Takeback Compliance, Hewlett Packard and a member of the Associate Parliamentary Sustainable Resource Group, and Professor Ab Stevels, Environmental Advisor, Philips Consumer Electronics.

a href="http://www.publications

Written Evidence

Aluminium Federation and Aluminium Packaging Recycling Organisation

BAN Waste

Dr Claire Barlow Supplementary


Boots Plc

British Glass

British Standards Institution

Building Research Establishment

Dr Jonathan Chapman

Chartered Institution of Wastes Management

Chemistry Innovation Knowledge Transfer Network and the Chemical Industries Association

Cranfield University Centre for Resource Efficiency and Management

De Monfort University RED Initiative

Design Council

EcoDesign Centre Wales

EEF, the manufacturers' organisation

Electronic Producers Environmental Policy Forum

Environment Agency

Environmental Industries Commission


Essex County Council

Ford Motor Company

Forum for the Future

Government Departments; Defra, BERR and DIUS

Government Departments; Defra DIUS supplementary

Green Alliance

Professor Sue Grimes


Hewlett-Packard Supplementary

Industry Council for Packaging and the Environment (INCPEN)

Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining

Institution of Chemical Engineers

Dr Bob Lisney OBE, LRL Consultancy Services Ltd and Mr Martin Charter, Centre for Sustainable Design

Dr Bob Lisney Supplementary

Local Authority Recycling Advisory Committee (LARAC)

Mike Read Associates

Milled Carbon Ltd

Nappy Alliance

National Industrial Symbiosis Programme

North London Waste Authority

Oakdene Hollins Ltd

Philips Consumer Electronics

Process Industries Centre for Manufacturing Excellence (PICME) Supplementary

Proctor and Gamble Supplementary

Research Councils UK

Resource Efficiency Knowledge Transfer Network

Salvation Army Trading Co Ltd (SATCoL) and the Nonwovens Innovation and Research Institute (NIRI)

Scottish Environment Protection Agency (SEPA)

Sheffield Hallam University Centre for Sustainable Consumption

Sheffield Hallam Supplementary

Social Environmental Enterprise + Design

Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders Ltd

Sustainable Development Commission

Technology Strategy Board

Technology Strategy Board Supplementary



Waste and Resources Action Program

Women's Environmental Network