Press Notice: Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy

Committee Office, House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA
Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson 020 7219 1589
10 February 2010


Rt Hon Margaret Beckett MP has been elected to be the Chair of the newly-formed Joint Committee of both Houses on the National Security Strategy.

The Committee met for the first time on 9 February 2010, temporarily chaired by Lord Sterling of Plaistow until the formal election of a Chair could take place.

The Committee intends to meet for a single public session before the Dissolution of Parliament in order to take evidence from senior Ministers on the Strategy.


In March 2008, HM Government published The National Security Strategy of the United Kingdom: Security in an interdependent world (CM 7291). The aim of the National Security Strategy (NSS) was stated as being "to set out how we [HM Government] will address and manage this diverse though interconnected set of security challenges and underlying drivers, both immediately and in the longer term, to safeguard the nation, its citizens, our prosperity and our way of life".

One of the priorities identified in the NSS was " consulting on a joint Parliamentary National Security Committee to help monitor the implementation and development of this strategy". On 31 October 2008, the Prime Minister wrote to the party leaders and others, outlining plans for the creation of a Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy.

The Committee held its first private meeting on 09 Feb 2010.

Members of the Committee:

Rt Hon Margaret Beckett MP ( Labour, Derby South) (Chair)

Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP ( Conservative, North East Hampshire)

Rt Hon Lord Cope of Berkeley ( Conservative)

Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP ( Liberal Democrats, Berwick-upon-Tweed)

Rt Hon Lord Fellowes ( Cross Bench)

Rt Hon Des Browne MP ( Labour, Kilmarnock and Loudon)

Rt Hon Lord Foulkes of Cumnock ( Labour Co-op)

Rt Hon Malcolm Bruce MP ( Liberal Democrats, Gordon)

Lord Harris of Haringey ( Labour)

Mike Gapes MP ( Labour Co-op, Ilford South)

Lord Lee of Trafford ( Liberal Democrats)

Rt Hon Dr Kim Howells MP ( Labour, Pontypridd)

Baroness Manningham-Buller ( Cross Bench)

Peter Luff MP ( Conservative, Mid Worcestershire)

Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale ( Labour)

Rt Hon Paul Murphy MP ( Labour, Torfaen)

Lord Sterling of Plaistow ( Conservative)

Rt Hon Sir Malcolm Rifkind MP ( Conservative, Kensington and Chelsea)

Rt Hon Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean ( Labour)

Paddy Tipping MP ( Labour, Sherwood)

Rt Hon Lord Waldegrave of North Hill ( Conservative)

Rt Hon Keith Vaz MP ( Labour, Leicester East)