House of Lords Select Committee on the Speakership of the House

On Tuesday 12 July 2005 the House agreed to a motion to resolve "That this House should elect its own presiding officer". The motion also provided "That a Select Committee on the Speakership of the House be appointed to consider further how to implement this resolution with full regard to the House€™s tradition of self-regulation." and named the following members:

Lord Lloyd of Berwick (Chairman)
Lord Ampthill
Lord Carter
Bishop of Chelmsford
Lord Desai
Lord Freeman
Baroness Gould of Potternewton
Lord Higgins
Lord Marsh
Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer
Lord Tordoff
Lord Trefgarne

The Committee was required to report by 20 December 2005. It held its final meeting on 13 December 2005 and the Speakership of the House of Lords Report with Evidence was published on Monday 19 December 2005. The report was approved by the House on 31 January 2006. The motion agreed to on 31 January provided for the first election to be held no later than the end of June 2006.

The House of Lords elected Baroness Hayman as its first Lord Speaker on 4 July 2006.