Committee on the Lord Chancellor's Department

Press Notice No.2 of  Session 2002-03, 12 February 2003


The Committee on the Lord Chancellor's Department met yesterday for an initial presentation and discussion with the Lord Chancellor and his senior officials on the work of the Department, and to determine its programme of work for the immediate future.

The Committee intends to take oral evidence from the Lord Chancellor on the work of his Department, his constitutional role, and the judicial appointments system at an early date.

The Committee also intends to take oral evidence on the Courts Bill, currently progressing through the House of Lords, with a view to highlighting the main areas of interest before the Bill reaches the House of Commons. Further details will be announced separately.

Amongst its first tasks, the Committee also intends to undertake inquiries into Immigration Appeals, and into the work of the Children and Family Court Advisory and Support Service (CAFCASS). The Committee will be inviting written submissions to these inquiries.

Note:  The Committee was established on 28th January this year to scrutinise the expenditure, policy and administration of the Lord Chancellor's Department and associated public bodies.  Further information about the Committee may be found on the Parliamentary website, as above.  The members of the Committee are as follows:

Rt Hon Alan Beith MP (Chairman) (Lib Dem, Berwick-upon-Tweed) Mr Hilton Dawson MP (Lab, Lancaster and Wyre)

Peter Bottomley MP (Con, Worthing West) Mr Mark Field MP (Con, Cities of London and Westminster)

Mr James Clappison MP (Con, Hertsmere) Mr Clive Soley MP (Lab, Ealing, Acton and Shepherd's Bush)

Ross Cranston QC MP (Lab, Dudley North) Keith Vaz MP (Lab, Leicester East)

Mrs Ann Cryer MP (Lab, Keighley) Dr Alan Whitehead MP (Lab, Southampton Test)

Mr Jim Cunningham MP (Lab, Coventry South)

Clerk of the Committee:  Huw Yardley  020 7219 8195

Committee Assistant:  Susan Morrison  020 7219 8198

Secretary:  Julie Storey  020 7219 8196

Committee website: