Formal Minutes

Tuesday 26 February in Edinburgh

Members present:

Mr Alan Beith, in the Chair

Siân James
Julie Morgan
Alun Michael
Mr Andrew Turner

1.Sentencing Guidelines: Death by driving offences

Resolved, That the Committee take oral evidence from Professor Mike Hough, Institute for Criminal Policy Research, King's College London; Amy Aeron-Thomas, Executive Director, Roadpeace (UK National Charity for Road Crash Victims); Kevin Clinton, Head of Road Safety, The Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents; and Chris Newell, Principal Legal Advisor, Crown Prosecution Service.

2. Devolution: a Decade on

Alex Fergusson MSP, Presiding Officer, and Ken Hughes, Acting Director of Clerking and Reporting, Scottish Parliament; Sir John Elvidge KCB, Permanent Secretary, Scottish Executive; Bruce Crawford MSP, Minister for Parliamentary Business, Scottish Executive; Professor James Mitchell, University of Strathclyde and Nicola Sturgeon MSP, Deputy First Minister, Scottish Executive gave oral evidence.

[Adjourned till 4 March at 4.00pm