Justice Committee

Press notice No. 29 of Session 2008-09

30 April 2009 / For Immediate Release

Bradley review

Chair of the Commons Justice Committee, Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP said:

"We very much welcome Lord Bradley's review which tackles issues very relevant to our forthcoming report on justice reinvestment. In particular it identifies a lack of coherence in strategies for dealing with the problems, like mental health and learning disabilities, which often underlie offending behaviour and it finds a surprising lack of research on which to base sensible policy decisions that have the best chance of reducing re-offending."

"We also welcome the Government's acceptance of these long-awaited recommendations and we expect the Government to act swiftly to implement them."

"We will be drawing on the thoughtful and comprehensive work that Lord Bradley and his team have carried out to inform the conclusions of our current inquiry into the allocation of resources on the reduction of re-offending."

1. Committee membership is as follows: Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP (Chairman), Mr David Heath MP, Rt Hon Douglas Hogg MP, Siân James MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Robert Neill MP, Dr Nick Palmer MP, Linda Riordan MP, Virendra Sharma MP, Mr Andrew Turner MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP and Dr Alan Whitehead MP

2. The Justice Committee is itself barred from considering the facts and merits of individual cases.

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer (020 7219 0724) email: bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk; Clare Mills (07795 662742);

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email: justicecom@parliament.uk

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Select Committee Calendar: www.parliament.uk/what_s_on/hoc_news3.cfm

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk