Justice Committee

Press notice No. 28 of Session 2008-09

30 April 2009 / For Immediate Release


Sentencing Guidelines: Fraud (statutory offences)

The Committee will hold a one-off evidence session on the current draft guidelines on Sentencing for Fraud (Statutory offences).

Sentencing Guidelines: Principles of sentencing for youths

The Committee will hold a one-off evidence session to look at the principles of sentencing for youths.

The role of the Prison Officer

The Committee will hold its fourth evidence session in its inquiry on the role of the Prison Officer

Details of the oral evidence session are as follows:

Tuesday 5 May in the Wilson Room, Portcullis House.

Fraud (statutory offences):

At 4.15 pm: Professor Michael Levi, University of Cardiff

Principles of youth sentencing:

At 4.50 pm: Sally Ireland, Chair, Standing Committee for Youth Justice, and Katy Swaine, Legal Director, Children's Rights Alliance for England

The role of the Prison Officer:

At 5.35 pm: Professor Andrew Coyle CMG, Professor of Prison Studies, King's College London

A transcript of the session will be available (within 5 days) on the Reports and Publications page of the Committee's website: www.parliament.uk/justicecom/

1. Committee membership is as follows: Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP (Chairman), Mr David Heath MP, Siân James MP, Rt Hon Douglas Hogg MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Robert Neill MP, Dr Nick Palmer MP, Linda Riordan MP, Virendra Sharma MP, Mr Andrew Turner MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP and Dr Alan Whitehead MP

2. The transcripts of previous evidence sessions can be found at on the Committee's website at www.parliament.uk/justicecom

3. The Justice Committee is itself barred from considering the facts and merits of individual cases.

4. The Justice Committee is holding an e-consultation as part of this inquiry. Further details can be found at HTTP://FORUMS.PARLIAMENT.UK/PRISON-OFFICERS.

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer (020 7219 0724) email: bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk; Clare Mills (07795 662742);

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email: justicecom@parliament.uk

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Select Committee Calendar: www.parliament.uk/what_s_on/hoc_news3.cfm

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk