Justice Committee

Operational Note No. 11 of Session 2009-10

29 January 2010 / For Immediate Release


Tuesday 2 February in the Wilson Room.

1) Work of the HM Chief Inspector of Prisons: appointment of a new Chief Inspector.

The Committee is preparing for a pre-appointment hearing with the preferred candidate for this post

At 4.15 pm: Dame Anne Owers DBE, current HM Chief Inspector of Prisons

2) Crown Dependencies

The Committee will hold an evidence session in its inquiry into the Crown Dependencies

At 5.15 pm:  Ministry of Justice and HM Treasury officials

1. Committee membership is as follows: Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP (Chairman), Rosie Cooper MP, Mr David Heath MP,

Rt Hon Douglas Hogg MP, Siân James MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Robert Neill MP, Dr Nick Palmer MP, Linda Riordan MP, Mr Andrew Turner MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP and Dr Alan Whitehead MP

2. The Justice Committee is barred from considering the facts and merits of individual cases.

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer (020 7219 0724) email: bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email: justicecom@parliament.uk

Committee Website:  www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Select Committee Calendar: www.parliament.uk/what_s_on/hoc_news3.cfm

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk