Justice Committee

Press notice

No. 41 of Session 2008-09

26 June 2009 / For Immediate Release


Sentencing Guidelines: Principles of sentencing for youths

The Committee will hold its second evidence session into Sentencing Guidelines: principles of sentencing for youths.

Constitutional Reform and Renewal

The Committee will hold its first evidence session on Constitutional Reform and Renewal. The session will concentrate on the Parliamentary Standards Bill. The Clerk of the House of Commons' written evidence on the Bill is available on the Committee's website.

Details of the oral evidence sessions are as follows:

Tuesday 30 June in The Wilson Room, Portcullis House.

At 4.15 pm: John Drew, Chief Executive, and Brendan Finegan, Director of Strategy, Youth Justice Board

At 5.00 pm: Dr Malcolm Jack, Clerk and Chief Executive, Andrew Kennon, Clerk of the Journals, and Michael Carpenter, Speaker's Counsel, House of Commons

A transcript of the sessions will be available (within 5 days) on the Reports and Publications page of the Committee's website: www.parliament.uk/justicecom/

1. Committee membership is as follows: Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP (Chairman), Mr David Heath MP, Rt Hon Douglas Hogg MP, Siân James MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Robert Neill MP, Dr Nick Palmer MP, Linda Riordan MP, Virendra Sharma MP, Mr Andrew Turner MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP and Dr Alan Whitehead MP

2. The transcript of the previous evidence session on Sentencing Guidelines: principles of sentencing for youths can be found at on the Committee's website at www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer (020 7219 0724) email: bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk; Clare Mills (07795 662742);

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email: justicecom@parliament.uk

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Select Committee Calendar: www.parliament.uk/what_s_on/hoc_news3.cfm

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk