Justice Committee

Press notice No. 23 of Session 2008-09

26 March 2009 / For Immediate Release


The role of the Prison Officer

The Committee will hold its second evidence session for its inquiry on the role of the Prison Officer

Details of the oral evidence session are as follows:

Tuesday 31 March in the Wilson Room, Portcullis House.

4.15pm: Colin Moses, National Chairman, Prison Officers' Association

4.55pm: Peter Olech, Secretary, and Mike Nolan, President, NOMS Group, Public and Commercial Services Union

5.20pm: Paddy Scriven, General Secretary, and Dave Hoskins, Finance Officer, Prison Governors' Association

A transcript of the session will be available (within 5 days) on the Reports and Publications page of the Committee's website: www.parliament.uk/justicecom/

1. Committee membership is as follows: Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP (Chairman), Mr David Heath MP, Siân James MP, Daniel Kawczynski MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Robert Neill MP, Dr Nick Palmer MP, Linda Riordan MP, Virendra Sharma MP, Mr Andrew Turner MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP and Dr Alan Whitehead MP

2. The transcripts of previous evidence sessions can be found at on the Committee's website at www.parliament.uk/justicecom

3. The Justice Committee is itself barred from considering the facts and merits of individual cases.

4. The Justice Committee is holding an e-consultation as part of this inquiry. Further details can be found at HTTP://FORUMS.PARLIAMENT.UK/PRISON-OFFICERS.

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer (020 7219 0724) email: bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk; Clare Mills (07795 662742);

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email: justicecom@parliament.uk

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Select Committee Calendar: www.parliament.uk/what_s_on/hoc_news3.cfm

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk