Justice Committee

Press notice No. 28 of Session 2007-08

22 May 2008 / For Immediate Release


Consultation Sentencing Guideline: Theft and Burglary (Non-Dwelling) and Constitutional and Legal Issues.

As part of its continuing scrutiny of draft Sentencing Guidelines issued by the Sentencing Guidelines Council, the Committee will hold a one off evidence session on the Consultation Sentencing Guideline: Theft and Burglary (Non-Dwelling). This will be followed, at 5.00 pm, by a one off evidence session on Constitutional and Legal Issues.

Details of the oral evidence session are as follows:

Tuesday 3 June in The Grimond Room, Portcullis House.

At 4.15 pm: Paul Cavadino, Chief Executive, Nacro, Rosina Robson, Policy Advisor, Federation of Small Businesses, and Gillian Guy, Chief Executive, Victim Support

At 5.00 pm: Michael Wills MP, Minister of State, and Bridget Prentice MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Ministry of Justice

A transcript of the session will be available (within 5 days) on the Reports and Publications page of the Committee's website: www.parliament.uk/justicecom/

1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon Alan Beith MP (Chairman), Mr David Heath MP, Daniel Kawczynski MP, Siân James MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Robert Neill MP, Dr Nick Palmer MP, Linda Riordan MP, Virendra Sharma MP, Mr Andrew Turner MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP and Dr Alan Whitehead MP

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer (020 7219 0724) email: bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk; Clare Mills (07795 662742);

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email: justicecom@parliament.uk

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Select Committee Calendar: www.parliament.uk/what_s_on/hoc_news3.cfm

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk