Justice Committee

Press notice No. 39 of Session 2008-09

18 June 2009 / For Immediate Release


Constitutional Reform and Renewal

The Committee will hold an evidence session on constitutional reform and renewal.

Details of the oral evidence session are as follows:

Tuesday 23 June in the Wilson Room.

At 4.15 pm: Rt Hon Jack Straw MP, Secretary of State for Justice and Lord Chancellor

The Committee intends to explore the implications, timetable and potential consequences of proposals for constitutional reform set out in the Prime Minister's statement (10 June), those in the Constitutional Renewal Bill and those made by others.

The Committee is not inviting written submissions at this stage.

1. Committee membership is as follows: Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP (Chairman), Mr David Heath MP, Rt Hon Douglas Hogg MP, Siân James MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Robert Neill MP, Dr Nick Palmer MP, Linda Riordan MP, Virendra Sharma MP, Mr Andrew Turner MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP and Dr Alan Whitehead MP

2. The Justice Committee is itself barred from considering the facts and merits of individual cases.

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer (020 7219 0724) email: bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk; Clare Mills (07795 662742);

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email: justicecom@parliament.uk

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Select Committee Calendar: www.parliament.uk/what_s_on/hoc_news3.cfm

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk