Justice Committee

Press notice No. 3 of Session 2008-09

17 December 2008 / For Immediate Release


The Justice Committee will publish a short report at 10.00 am on Friday 19 December setting out the context of evidence taken on the UK Government's safeguarding of the interests of the Crown Dependencies in the aftermath of the Icelandic banking sector crisis.

The Report, Crown Dependencies: evidence taken, will be published as the Committee's First Report of 2008-09, HC 67, on Friday 19 December 2008. Copies may be obtained from the Parliamentary Bookshop and the Stationery Office (details below) and the text will be available via the Committee's website, www.parliament.uk/justicecom.

1. The Justice Committee took oral evidence, on 10 December 2008, from Lord Bach, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State at the Ministry of Justice with responsibility for protecting the interests of the Crown Dependencies.

2. Committee membership is as follows: Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP (Chairman), Mr David Heath MP, Siân James MP, Daniel Kawczynski MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Robert Neill MP, Dr Nick Palmer MP, Linda Riordan MP, Virendra Sharma MP, Mr Andrew Turner MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP and Dr Alan Whitehead MP

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer (020 7219 0724) email: bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk; Clare Mills (07795 662742);

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email: justicecom@parliament.uk

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Select Committee Calendar: www.parliament.uk/what_s_on/hoc_news3.cfm

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk