Justice Committee

Press notice No. 56 of Session 2008-09

16 October 2009 / For Immediate Release



The Committee is publishing the Government’s interim reply to its recent report on family law legal aid reform in its Fifth Special Report: Family Legal Aid Reform: Government response to the Eighth Report from the Committee, Session 2008-09, HC 1018.

A final reply is expected once the Ministry of Justice and the Legal Services Commission have concluded re-examination and re-modelling of their proposals for reform in this area.


The Committee is publishing the Government’s reply to its recent reports on (a) the Parliamentary Standards Bill and (b) constitutional reform and renewal in its Sixth Special Report of 2008-09: Parliamentary Standards Bill and Constitutional Reform and Renewal: Government’s responses to the Seventh and Eleventh Reports from the Committee, Session 2008-09, HC 1017.

The latter report, the eleventh, and related Government reply, are particularly relevant to the forthcoming second reading of the Government’s Constitutional Reform and Governance Bill set for Tuesday 20th October 2009.

1. The reports will be available online via the Committee’s website once published.

2. Committee membership is as follows: Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP (Chairman), Mr David Heath MP, Rt Hon Douglas Hogg MP, Siân James MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Robert Neill MP, Dr Nick Palmer MP, Linda Riordan MP, Virendra Sharma MP, Mr Andrew Turner MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP and Dr Alan Whitehead MP.

Further Information:

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer (020 7219 0724) email: bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email: justicecom@parliament.uk

Committee Website:  www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Select Committee Calendar: www.parliament.uk/what_s_on/hoc_news3.cfm

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk