Justice Committee

Press notice No. 46 of Session 2007-08

16 October 2008 / For Immediate Release


Ministry of Justice Departmental Annual Report 2007-08

The Justice Committee will take evidence on issues relating to the Departmental Annual Report and the wider work of the Ministry of Justice. This is a one-off evidence session.

Pre-Appointment Hearing- Office for Legal Complaints

The Justice Committee will take evidence from the Legal Services Board’s preferred candidate for the Chair of the Office for Legal Complaints. 

Details of the oral evidence sessions are as follows:

Tuesday 21 October in The Grimond Room, Portcullis House.

At 4.15 pm: Sir Suma Chakrabarti KCB, Permanent Secretary, Rowena Collins-Rice, Director General (Democracy, Constitution and Law), Helen Edwards, Director General (Corporate Performance), Peter Handcock, CBE, Director General (Access to Justice), Marco Pierleoni, Director General (Finance and Commercial), and, Phil Wheatley, Director General (National Offender Management Service), Ministry of Justice.  

At 5.30pm: Elizabeth France, CBE, preferred candidate for the Chair of the Office for Legal Complaints.

A transcript of the sessions will be available (within 5 days) on the Reports and Publications page of the Committee's website: www.parliament.uk/justicecom/

1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP (Chairman), Mr David Heath MP, Siân James MP, Daniel Kawczynski MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Robert Neill MP, Dr Nick Palmer MP, Linda Riordan MP, Virendra Sharma MP, Mr Andrew Turner MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP and Dr Alan Whitehead MP

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer (020 7219 0724) email: bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk; Clare Mills (07795 662742);

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email: justicecom@parliament.uk

Committee Website:  www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Select Committee Calendar: www.parliament.uk/what_s_on/hoc_news3.cfm

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk