Justice Committee

Operational Note                                                                 No. 14 of Session 2009-10

16 February 2010 / For Immediate Release


Wednesday 24 February in Room 15, House of Commons

Constitutional processes following a general election

The Committee is holding a one-off evidence session on Constitutional processes following a general election.

The Chairman of the Committee, Sir Alan Beith MP, said today that: “for many people the constitutional processes that takes place after a general election, and the roles and responsibilities of the Prime Minister, the Sovereign, the Civil Service and other key actors, are unclear. This is all the more important in circumstances where, for instance, the election itself results in a situation where no one political party gains an overall majority in the House of Commons. The Justice Committee is therefore holding an evidence session to shed some light on constitutional provision and practice in this area.” 

The evidence session will commence at 9.30 am in Committee Room 15.

Witnesses will include: Professor Robert Hazell, Director, Constitution Unit, UCL, Peter Riddell, Senior Fellow, Institute of Government, Professor Vernon Bogdanor, Professor of Government, Oxford University; Lord Butler of Brockwell and Lord Turnbull of Enfield, former cabinet secretaries; and Sir Gus O’Donnell, Cabinet Secretary and Head of the Civil Service, Cabinet Office.

1. Committee membership is as follows: Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP (Chairman), Rosie Cooper MP, Mr David Heath MP, Rt Hon Douglas Hogg MP, Siân James MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Robert Neill MP, Dr Nick Palmer MP, Linda Riordan MP, Mr Andrew Turner MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP and Dr Alan Whitehead MP

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer (020 7219 0724) email: bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email: justicecom@parliament.uk

Committee Website:  www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Select Committee Calendar: www.parliament.uk/what_s_on/hoc_news3.cfm

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk