Justice Committee

Operational Note No. 08 of Session 2009-10

15 January 2010 / For Immediate Release


Tuesday 19 January in the Grimond Room.

1) Justice Issues in Europe

The Committee will hold its fifth evidence session on its inquiry Justice Issues in Europe.

At 4.15 pm: Professor Juliet Lodge, Director, Jean Monnet European Centre of Excellence, University of Leeds and, James Michael, Privacy Laws and Business

2) Pre-legislative Scrutiny of the Draft Civil Law Reform Bill

The Committee is conducting pre-legislative scrutiny of the Draft Civil Law Reform Bill (see http://www.justice.gov.uk/rss/civil-law-reform-bill.htm). The Ministry of Justice has issued the Bill in the form of a public consultation document with a closing date of 9 February (see http://www.justice.gov.uk/consultations/docs/civil-law-reform-bill-consultation-paper.pdf). The Committee is content to receive copies of the submissions of individuals and organisations to that consultation and/or memoranda addressing the implications of the Government's proposals for: access to civil justice and fair and effective remediation; the fairness of the law on inheritance and effective administration of related proceedings; and the efficacy of legal advocacy and resolution of related complaints and conduct issues.

The first evidence session in this inquiry will be as follows:

At 5.00 pm: Andrew Ritchie QC, Timothy Petts and Tim Evans, Bar Council, Des Hudson, Chief Executive, Law Society, and Stephen Mason, Chair, Law Society Civil Justice Committee.

1. Committee membership is as follows: Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP (Chairman), Mr David Heath MP,

Rt Hon Douglas Hogg MP, Siân James MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Robert Neill MP, Dr Nick Palmer MP, Linda Riordan MP, Virendra Sharma MP, Mr Andrew Turner MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP and Dr Alan Whitehead MP

2. The Justice Committee is barred from considering the facts and merits of individual cases.

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer (020 7219 0724) email: bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email: justicecom@parliament.uk

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Select Committee Calendar: www.parliament.uk/what_s_on/hoc_news3.cfm

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk