Justice Committee: Press Notices

Press notice No. 55 of Session 2008-09

12 October 2009 / For Immediate Release


Ministry of Justice Departmental Annual Report 2008-09

The Committee will hold an evidence session on the Ministry of Justice Departmental Annual Report 2008-09

Details of the oral evidence session are as follows:

Tuesday 13 October in the Wilson Room.

At 4.15 pm: Sir Suma Chakrabarti KCB - Permanent Secretary; Carolyn Downs (Deputy Permanent Secretary and Director General of Corporate Performance Group); Helen Edwards - Director General (Criminal Justice Group); Peter Handcock CBE - Director General  (Access to Justice); Marco Pierleoni - Director General (Finance and Commercial); Phil Wheatley - Director General  (National Offender Management Service) Ministry of Justice

1. Committee membership is as follows: Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP (Chairman), Mr David Heath MP, Rt Hon Douglas Hogg MP, Siân James MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Robert Neill MP, Dr Nick Palmer MP, Linda Riordan MP, Virendra Sharma MP, Mr Andrew Turner MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP and Dr Alan Whitehead MP

2. The Justice Committee is itself barred from considering the facts and merits of individual cases.

Further Information:

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer (020 7219 0724) email: bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email: justicecom@parliament.uk

Committee Website:  www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Select Committee Calendar: www.parliament.uk/what_s_on/hoc_news3.cfm

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk