Justice Committee

Press notice No. 37 of Session 2008-09

11 June 2009 / For Immediate Release


Family law legal aid

The Committee will hold a one-off evidence session looking at the Government’s proposals for the reform of family law legal aid and the conduct of consultation on this issue.

Details of the oral evidence session are as follows:

Tuesday 16 June in Committee Room 8.

At 4.00 pm: Rt Hon Baroness Butler-Sloss GBE, Lucy Theis, Chairman, Family Law Bar Association, Caroline Little, Co-Chair, Association of Lawyers for Children, Judith Timms, Policy Officer, NAGALRO (National Association of Guardians Ad Litem and Reporting Officers), and Elena Fowler, Chief Executive Officer, National Youth Advisory Service (NYAS).

At 4.45 pm: Carolyn Regan, Chief Executive, Hugh Barrett, Executive Director (Commissioning), and Sara Kovach-Clark, Head of Civil Policy Development (Family), Legal Services Commission.

A transcript of the session will be available (within 5 days) on the Reports and Publications page of the Committee's website: www.parliament.uk/justicecom/

1. Committee membership is as follows: Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP (Chairman), Mr David Heath MP, Rt Hon Douglas Hogg MP, Siân James MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Robert Neill MP, Dr Nick Palmer MP, Linda Riordan MP, Virendra Sharma MP, Mr Andrew Turner MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP and Dr Alan Whitehead MP

2. The Justice Committee is itself barred from considering the facts and merits of individual cases.

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer (020 7219 0724) email: bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk; Clare Mills (07795 662742);

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email: justicecom@parliament.uk

Committee Website:  www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Select Committee Calendar: www.parliament.uk/what_s_on/hoc_news3.cfm

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk