Justice Committee

Press notice

No. 18 of Session 2007-08

10 March / Embargoed: Not to be published in any form before 00.01 am on Tuesday 11 March 2008

Government response to Committee report on private data loss published

The Justice Committee today publishes the Government's response to its report into the data loss by Her Majesty's Revenue and Customs (HMRC), 'Protection of Private Data', published in January this year.

Commenting on the Government's response, Chairman of the Committee, Rt Hon Alan Beith MP said: "I think it was a shock to the public to find that such sensitive personal data could so easily be accessed and downloaded, and that it was possible for such data to be so easily lost, and of course further examples have come to light since the massive scale of the HMRC data loss was revealed. The public are going to take a lot more convincing that the Government has got a grip on this problem."

1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon Alan Beith MP (Chairman), Rosie Cooper MP, Mr David Howarth MP, Daniel Kawczynski MP, Siân James MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Robert Neill MP, Dr Nick Palmer MP, Virendra Sharma MP, Mr Andrew Turner, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP and Dr Alan Whitehead MP

2. The Committee's report 'Protection of Private Data' HC 154 can be found at on the Committee's website at www.parliament.uk/justicecom . The Government's response is published as the Committee's Third Special Report, Session 2007-08, HC 406.

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer (020 7219 0724) email: bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk; Clare Mills (07795 662742);

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email: justicecom@parliament.uk

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Select Committee Calendar: www.parliament.uk/what_s_on/hoc_news3.cfm

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk