Justice Committee

Operational notice No. 05 of Session 2009-10

08 January 2010 / For Immediate Release


Details of the oral evidence session is as follows:

Tuesday 12 January in th e Wilson Room.

Pre-appointment hearing: HM Chief Inspector CPS

The Committee will hold an evidence session with the preferred candidate for this post.

At 3.15 pm: Michael Fuller, current Chief Constable of Kent Police

1. In preparation for this hearing, the Committee took evidence from the current HM Chief Inspector CPS, Mr Stephen Wooler CB, on 8 December 2009, see http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm200910/cmselect/cmjust/uc57-i/uc5701.htm.

The Committee also published a report on the Crown Prosecution Service in 2008-09 (Ninth Report, Crown Prosecution Service: gatekeeper of the criminal justice system, HC 186), see http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm200809/cmselect/cmjust/186/186.pdf.

2. Committee membership is as follows: Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP (Chairman), Mr David Heath MP,

Rt Hon Douglas Hogg MP, Siân James MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Robert Neill MP, Dr Nick Palmer MP, Linda Riordan MP, Virendra Sharma MP, Mr Andrew Turner MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP and Dr Alan Whitehead MP

3. The Justice Committee is itself barred from considering the facts and merits of individual cases.

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer (020 7219 0724) email: bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email: justicecom@parliament.uk

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Select Committee Calendar: www.parliament.uk/what_s_on/hoc_news3.cfm

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk