Justice Committee

Press notice

No. 17 of Session 2007-08

6 March 2008 / For Immediate Release


Devolution: A Decade On and Justice Reinvestment

The Committee will hold the fifth evidence session into its inquiry Devolution: A Decade On. In the second part of the session, at 12.45pm, the Committee will hold its first evidence session into its inquiry Justice Reinvestment.

Details of the oral evidence session are as follows:

Thursday 13 March, The Vermont Hotel, Castle Garth, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 1RQ

At 11.00am: Councillor David Faulkner, Newcastle City Council, Councillor Peter Mole, Gateshead City Council, and Councillor Paul Watson, Sunderland City Council

At 11:35am: Sarah Ayres, University of Bristol, and Graham Pearce, Aston University

At 12:10pm: Professor John Mawson, Warwick Business School, and Mr Phil Davis and Mr George Morran, Campaign for the English Regions

At 12:45pm: Sir Jeremy Beecham, Local Government Association, Ruth Gaul, Strategy Safety Manager, Community, Safety and Drugs, Gateshead Council, and Dr Kadhem Jallab, Head of Tyne and Wear Research and Information

A transcript of the session will be available (within 5 days) on the Reports and Publications page of the Committee's website: www.parliament.uk/justicecom/

1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon Alan Beith MP (Chairman), Rosie Cooper MP, Mr David Howarth MP, Daniel Kawczynski MP, Siân James MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Robert Neill MP, Dr Nick Palmer MP, Virendra Sharma MP, Mr Andrew Turner, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP and Dr Alan Whitehead MP

2. The transcripts of previous evidence sessions can be found at on the Committee's website at www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer 020 7219 0724 email: bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk; Clare Mills (07795 662742);

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email: justicecom@parliament.uk

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Select Committee Calendar: www.parliament.uk/what_s_on/hoc_news3.cfm

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk