Justice Committee

No. 48 of Session 2008-09

5 August 2009/ For Immediate Release



The Isle of Man, Jersey and Guernsey are self-governing dependencies of the UK. These 'Crown Dependencies' have their own directly-elected legislatures together with independent legal, administrative and fiscal systems. UK legislation only extends to them with the consent of the relevant legislatures. The Crown Dependencies are not part of the EU or EEA but they are in the Customs territory of the EU which means they can benefit from free movement provisions.

The UK Government is constitutionally responsible for the international representation of the Crown Dependencies. The Ministry of Justice is the UK Department with policy responsibility for managing the UK's relationship with the Crown Dependencies.*

Recent events, for example, the impact of the banking crisis on the Crown Dependencies, have brought the Ministry of Justice's role in relation to the Crown Dependencies into focus.** The Justice Committee has decided to conduct a brief inquiry into the role and performance of the Ministry of Justice in relation to the Crown Dependencies.

The inquiry will focus on:

i) How, in practice, the UK Government represents the Crown Dependencies internationally;

ii) The role of the Ministry of Justice in managing the United Kingdom's relationship with the Crown Dependencies including inter-departmental liaison and coordination; and,

iii) What, if any, changes are required, in terms of either policy or practice in order to improve the Ministry of Justice's management of the relationship between the United Kingdom and the Crown Dependencies?

* Crown Dependencies: evidence taken: Government Response to the Committee's First Report of Session 2008-09 Second Special Report of Session 2008-09

** The Justice Committee, First Report of Session 2008-09 on Crown Dependencies: evidence taken on Friday 19 December 2008, HC 67.

Further guidance on the format and length of submissions is given below.

Call for evidence:
Written evidence should if possible be in Word or rich text format with as little use of colour or logos as possible€”not PDF format€”and sent by e-mail to justicecommemo@parliament.uk. The body of the e-mail must include a contact name, telephone number and postal address. The e-mail should also make clear who the submission is from. The deadline is 2 October 2009.

Submissions must address the terms of reference. They should be in the format of a self-contained memorandum and should be no more than 3,000 words. Paragraphs should be numbered for ease of reference, and the document must include an executive summary. Further guidance on the submission of evidence can be found at www.parliament.uk/parliamentary_committees/witness.cfm.

Submissions should be original work, not previously published or circulated elsewhere, though previously published work can be referred to in a submission and submitted as supplementary material. Once submitted, your submission becomes the property of the Committee and no public use should be made of it unless you have first obtained permission from the Clerk of the Committee. PLEASE BEAR IN MIND THAT COMMITTEES ARE NOT ABLE TO INVESTIGATE INDIVIDUAL CASES.

The Committee normally, though not always, chooses to publish the written evidence it receives, either by printing the evidence, publishing it on the internet or making it publicly available through the Parliamentary Archives. If there is any information you believe to be sensitive you should highlight it and explain what harm you believe would result from its disclosure; the Committee will take this into account in deciding whether to publish or further disclose the evidence.

For data protection purposes, it would be helpful if individuals wishing to submit written evidence send their contact details in a covering letter or e-mail. You should be aware that there may be circumstances in which the House of Commons will be required to communicate information to third parties on request, in order to comply with its obligations under the Freedom of Information Act 2000

1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP (Chairman), Mr David Heath MP, Rt Hon Douglas Hogg MP, Siân James MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Robert Neill MP, Dr Nick Palmer MP, Linda Riordan MP, Virendra Sharma MP, Mr Andrew Turner, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP and Dr Alan Whitehead MP

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer (020 7219 0724) email: bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk; Clare Mills (07795 662742);

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email: justicecom@parliament.uk

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Select Committee Calendar: www.parliament.uk/what_s_on/hoc_news3.cfm

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk