Justice Committee

Press notice No. 29 of Session 2007-08

04 June 2008 / For Immediate Release


Draft Constitutional Renewal Bill

The Committee will hold an evidence session for its inquiry on the Draft Constitutional Renewal Bill. This will cover the role of the Attorney General and continues the work of the Constitutional Affairs Committee which reported on the Constitutional Role of the Attorney General in July 2007.

Details of the oral evidence session are as follows:

Tuesday 10 June in The Grimond Room, Portcullis House.

At 4.15 pm: Roger Smith, JUSTICE, and Professor Jeffrey Jowell QC

At 5.15 pm: Rt Hon Baroness Scotland of Asthal QC, Attorney General, and Jonathan Jones, Director General, Attorney General's Office.

A transcript of the session will be available (within 5 days) on the Reports and Publications page of the Committee's website: www.parliament.uk/justicecom/

1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon Alan Beith MP (Chairman), Mr David Heath MP, Daniel Kawczynski MP, Siân James MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Robert Neill MP, Dr Nick Palmer MP, Linda Riordan MP, Virendra Sharma MP, Mr Andrew Turner MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP and Dr Alan Whitehead MP

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer (020 7219 0724) email: bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk; Clare Mills (07795 662742);

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email: justicecom@parliament.uk

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Select Committee Calendar: www.parliament.uk/what_s_on/hoc_news3.cfm

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk