Justice Committee: Press Notices

News release No. 02 of Session 2009-10

03 December 2009 / For Immediate Release


Details of the oral evidence sessions are as follows:

Tuesday 8 December in the Wilson Room.

1) Justice Issues in Europe

The Committee will hold its third evidence session on its inquiry Justice Issues in Europe.

At 4.15 pm: Jodie Blackstock, Senior Legal Officer (EU), JUSTICE, Jago Russell, Chief Executive, Fair Trials International, and Nuala Mole, Director, AIRE Centre

2) Work of the HM Chief Inspector CPS: appointment of a new Chief Inspector.

The Committee is preparing for a pre-appointment hearing with the preferred candidate for this post

At 5.15 pm: Stephen Wooler CB, current HMCPSI

1. Committee membership is as follows: Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP (Chairman), Mr David Heath MP, Rt Hon Douglas Hogg MP, Siân James MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Robert Neill MP, Dr Nick Palmer MP, Linda Riordan MP, Virendra Sharma MP, Mr Andrew Turner MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP and Dr Alan Whitehead MP

2. The Justice Committee is itself barred from considering the facts and merits of individual cases.

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer (020 7219 0724) email: bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email: justicecom@parliament.uk

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Select Committee Calendar: www.parliament.uk/what_s_on/hoc_news3.cfm

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk