Justice Committee

Press Release No. 12 of Session 2009-10

1 February 2010 / For Immediate Release



In a report released today, Monday 1 February 2009, the Commons Justice Committee endorses the appointment of Mr Michael Fuller, currently Chief Constable of Kent, for appointment as the new HM Chief Inspector of the Crown Prosecution Service.

The role of HM Chief Inspector of the Crown Prosecution Service is an independent, statutory office-holder reporting to the Attorney General as the Minister responsible for superintendence of the Crown Prosecution Service. The Chief Inspector's role includes managing some 45 permanent staff, located in London and York, and an annual budget of £3.788 million.

The Committee considered whether there is an argument in principle against appointing a senior police officer as HM Chief Inspector of the Crown Prosecution Service, but also took into account Mr Fuller's personal qualities and the undesirability of unduly restricting the field of recruits.

The Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith, Chair of the Committee, said; "We are pleased to endorse Mr Fuller as the new HM Inspector of the CPS. We agree with his preliminary view of the character and priorities of his role and that of the Inspectorate, and we welcome his grasp of the need for independence, specialist expertise where necessary and for an understanding of the criminal justice system as a whole. We expect him to call upon all his experience€”as a leader, manager and innovator as well as a police officer€”in pursuing his new responsibilities."

In preparation for the pre-appointment hearing with Mr Fuller on 12 January 2010, the Committee took oral evidence from the current Chief Inspector, Mr Stephen Wooler CB, on 8 December 2009. This evidence, together with relevant memoranda, is also published today and it indicates the wide range of matters with which the Inspectorate will need to concern itself and suggested priorities in doing so. /ENDS

Copies of the report may be obtained from the Parliamentary Bookshop and the Stationery Office (details below) and the text will be available via the Committee's website, www.parliament.uk/justicecom upon publication.

1. Committee membership is as follows: Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP (Chairman), Rosie Cooper MP, Mr David Heath MP,

Rt Hon Douglas Hogg MP, Siân James MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Robert Neill MP, Dr Nick Palmer MP, Linda Riordan MP, Mr Andrew Turner MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP and Dr Alan Whitehead MP

2. The Justice Committee is barred from considering the facts and merits of individual cases.

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer (020 7219 0724) email: bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email: justicecom@parliament.uk

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Select Committee Calendar: www.parliament.uk/what_s_on/hoc_news3.cfm

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk