Justice Committee

Press notice No. 49 of Session 2007-08

Immediate Publication: 11.00 am 31 October 2008


Following its first pre-appointment hearing with the chosen candidate for the Chair of the Office of Legal Complaints the Commons Justice Select Committee has given her an unconditional welcome.

Chair of the Committee Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith said: "The Chair of the Office for Legal Complaints is a new role created by the Legal Services Act 2007, and from 2010, the Office will investigate all consumer complaints relating to the provision of legal services. It will replace a number of existing regulatory organisations in this field with the aim of streamlining the complaints process for legal consumers.

"We are interested in what benefits this new regulatory regime can offer consumers and how the way the role was conceived, and would be executed by the new appointee, would reflect this priority. Having had the chance to question the proposed new Chair of the Office of Legal Complaints in some depth, I am very pleased to unreservedly offer our support and endorsement of her appointment.

"We are entirely satisfied that she meets the criteria necessary for the role and we wish her every success in establishing the Office for Legal Complaints. We will look forward to establishing a relationship with her office as part of our ongoing scrutiny of the provision of legal services."


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP (Chairman), Mr David Heath MP, Siân James MP, Daniel Kawczynski MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Robert Neill MP, Dr Nick Palmer MP, Linda Riordan MP, Virendra Sharma MP, Mr Andrew Turner MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP and Dr Alan Whitehead MP 2. The transcripts of previous evidence sessions can be found at on the Committee's website at www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Further Information:

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer (020 7219 0724) email: bridgespalmerj@parliament.uk Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email: justicecom@parliament.uk Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/justicecom Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv Select Committee Calendar: www.parliament.uk/what_s_on/hoc_news3.cfm

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk