Press Notice 46

3 July 2007

Session 2006-07 No. 46


Notice of Forthcoming Public Evidence Session

The human rights of adults with learning disabilities:

The following oral evidence session has been arranged on the human rights of adults with learning disabilities:

Monday 9 July

4.15 p.m.

Ms Sonya Sceats, Policy and Research Officer, British Institute of Human Rights

Ms Anne Lofthouse, Lead Officer for Service User and Carer Involvement in Learning Disabilities, and Ms Lindsey Dyer, Director, Service Users and Carers, Mersey Care NHS Trust

Ms Joanna Perry, Board of Trustees, Values into Action

5.00 p.m.

Ms Ruth Scott, Head of Policy and Government Affairs, SCOPE

Professor Tony Holland, Health Foundation Chair in Learning Disabilities, Department of Psychiatry, Cambridge Centre for Participation

Ms Philipa Bragman, Director, and Mr Sean Webster, Project Co-ordinator, Change

The above meeting is open to members of the public. It is advisable to allow about 20 minutes to pass through security checks. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms. Members of the public enter via St Stephens Entrance to the Palace of Westminster.

Committee rooms are subject to change. It is advisable that those interested check the House of Commons Committee Information Line which provides recorded information about forthcoming meetings including venues, subjects under discussion and contact number for further information. The recording, which is updated daily, covers select and standing committee meetings occurring within the next two sitting days. The number to dial is 020 7219 2033.


Mr Andrew Dismore MP (Labour, Hendon) (Chairman)
Lord Fraser of Carmyllie (Conservative)
Mr Douglas Carswell MP (Conservative, Harwich)
Lord Judd (Labour)
Nia Griffith MP (Labour, Llanelli)
Lord Lester of Herne Hill (Liberal Democrat)
Dr Evan Harris MP (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)
The Earl of Onslow (Conservative)
Mr Richard Shepherd MP (Conservative, Aldridge-Brownhills)
Lord Plant of Highfield (Labour)
Mark Tami MP (Labour, Alyn & Deeside)
Baroness Stern (Cross-Bencher)

Clerks of the Committee: Dr Mark Egan (House of Commons) 020 7219 2797 and Mr Bill Sinton (House of Lords) 020 7219 5358

ENQUIRIES: 020 7219 2797/2467 FAX: 020 7219 8393 E-MAIL:


MEDIA INQUIRIES: Ms Jessica Bridges-Palmer: 020 7219 0724