Joint Committee on Human Rights press notice no. 57

Session 2005-06, 9 November 2006

Committee Announces Forthcoming Publications

The Human Rights Act: the DCA and Home Office Reviews

Government Response to the Committee's Report on the UN Convention Against Torture

Legislative Scrutiny: Final Progress Report

The Joint Committee on Human Rights (JCHR) publishes its Thirty-second Report of Session 2005-06, The Human Rights Act: the DCA and Home Office Reviews, on Tuesday 14 November 2006 at 00.01 a.m. Embargoed copies of the report will be available to press and witnesses from 10.00 a.m. on Monday 13 November 2006. The Report will be published as House of Lords Paper 278, House of Commons Paper 1716.

On Monday 13 November at 10.00am the Committee will also publish, with no advance embargoed copies, its€”

€ Thirtieth Report of the Session, Government Response to the Committee's Nineteenth Report of this Session: The UN Convention Against Torture (UNCAT), as House of Lords Paper 276, House of Commons Paper 1714; and

€ Thirty-first Report of the Session, Legislative Scrutiny: Final Progress Report, as House of Lords Paper 277, House of Commons Paper 1715. This Report deals mainly with the Safeguarding Vulnerable Groups Bill (now Act).

The reports will be available from The Stationery Office (tel: 0870 600 5522), Parliamentary Hotline Lo-call 0845 7 023474, Email:, Internet:, TSO shops, The Parliamentary Bookshop, 12 Bridge Street, London SW1A 2JX (tel 020 7219 3890) and through good booksellers. they will also be on the Committee's website at the address below on the day of publication.


Mr Andrew Dismore MP (Labour, Hendon) (Chairman)
Lord Bowness (Conservative)
Mr Douglas Carswell MP (Conservative, Harwich)
Lord Campbell of Alloway (Conservative)
Mary Creagh MP (Labour, Wakefield)
Lord Judd (Labour)
Nia Griffith MP (Labour, Llanelli)
Lord Lester of Herne Hill (Liberal Democrat)
Dr Evan Harris MP (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Lord Plant of Highfield (Labour)
Mr Richard Shepherd MP (Conservative, Aldridge-Brownhills)
Baroness Stern (Cross-Bencher)

Clerks of the Committee: Mr Nick Walker (House of Commons) 020 7219 2797 and Mr Bill Sinton (House of Lords) 020 7219 5358

ENQUIRIES: 020 7219 2797/2467 FAX: 020 7219 8393 E-MAIL:


MEDIA INQUIRIES: Ms Jessica Bridges-Palmer: 020 7219 0724