Joint Committee on Human Rights press notice no. 4

Session 2006-07, 28 November 2006

Notice of Forthcoming Public Evidence Session: Treatment of Asylum Seekers

The following oral evidence session has been arranged on the treatment of asylum-seekers:

Monday 4 December at 4.15 pm, Committee Room 4A
Richard Dunstan, Policy Officer, Citizens' Advice, Renae Mann, Co-ordinator, Inter-Agency Partnership, Sally Daghlian, Chief Executive, The Scottish Refugee Council, Ms Twimukye Mushaka, The Scottish Refugee Policy Forum

at approx. 5:30pm
Karen McColl, Director, Medecins du Monde, Dr Angela Burnett, Medact, Yusef Azad, Director of Policy and Campaigns, National Aids Trust

The above meeting is open to members of the public. It is advisable to allow about 20 minutes to pass through security checks. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms. Members of the public enter via St Stephens Entrance to the Palace of Westminster.

Committee rooms are subject to change. It is advisable that those interested check the House of Commons Committee Information Line which provides recorded information about forthcoming meetings including venues, subjects under discussion and contact number for further information. The recording, which is updated daily, covers select and standing committee meetings occurring within the next two sitting days. The number to dial is 020 7219 2033.


Mr Andrew Dismore MP (Labour, Hendon) (Chairman)
Lord Bowness (Conservative)
Mr Douglas Carswell MP (Conservative, Harwich)
Lord Campbell of Alloway (Conservative)
Mary Creagh MP (Labour, Wakefield)
Lord Judd (Labour)
Nia Griffith MP (Labour, Llanelli)
Lord Lester of Herne Hill (Liberal Democrat)
Dr Evan Harris MP (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Lord Plant of Highfield (Labour)
Mr Richard Shepherd MP (Conservative, Aldridge-Brownhills)
Baroness Stern (Cross-Bencher)

Clerks of the Committee: Mr Nick Walker (House of Commons) 020 7219 2797 and Mr Bill Sinton (House of Lords) 020 7219 5358

ENQUIRIES: 020 7219 2797/2467 FAX: 020 7219 8393 E-MAIL: