Joint Committee on Human Rights press notice no. 26

Session 2006-07, 28 March 2007

Forthcoming Publication:Legislative Scrutiny: Fourth Progress Report

Drawing special attention to:
Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Bill

The Joint Committee on Human Rights (JCHR) publishes its Eleventh Report of Session 2006-07, Legislative Scrutiny: Fourth Progress Report, on Friday 30 March 2007 at 11.00 am as House of Lords Paper HL 83, House of Commons Paper HC 424.

The JCHR examines every Government and private Bill presented to Parliament, reporting on those which it considers raise significant human rights issues. With Government Bills its starting point is the statement made by the Minister under section 19 of the Human Rights Act 1998 in respect of compliance with Convention rights as defined in that Act. However, it also has regard to the provisions of other international human rights instruments to which the UK is a signatory.

The Committee publishes regular progress reports on its scrutiny of Bills, taking into account any evidence provided to it by the Government and others. From time to time the Committee also publishes separate reports on individual Bills.

In this report, the fourth progress report of this Session, the Committee draws the special attention of both Houses to the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Bill, and publishes correspondence received from the Government relating to the Consumers, Estate Agents and Redress Bill, the Tribunals, Courts and Enforcement Bill, the Welfare Reform Bill and the Equality Act 2006 (Sexual Orientation) Regulations 2007, on all of which the Committee has already reported.

The report will be available from The Stationery Office (tel: 0870 600 5522), Parliamentary Hotline Lo-call 0845 7 023474, Email:, Internet:, TSO shops, The Parliamentary Bookshop, 12 Bridge Street, London SW1A 2JX (tel 020 7219 3890) and through good booksellers. It will also be on the Committee's website at the address below on the day of publication.


Mr Andrew Dismore MP (Labour, Hendon) (Chairman)
The Earl of Onslow (Conservative)
Mr Douglas Carswell MP (Conservative, Harwich)
Lord Fraser of Carmyllie (Conservative)
Mark Tami MP (Labour, Alyn & Deeside)
Lord Judd (Labour)
Nia Griffith MP (Labour, Llanelli)
Lord Lester of Herne Hill (Liberal Democrat)
Dr Evan Harris MP (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)
Lord Plant of Highfield (Labour)
Mr Richard Shepherd MP (Conservative, Aldridge-Brownhills)
Baroness Stern (Cross-Bencher)

Clerks of the Committee: Mr Nick Walker (House of Commons) 020 7219 2797 and Mr Bill Sinton (House of Lords) 020 7219 5358

ENQUIRIES: 020 7219 2797/2467 FAX: 020 7219 8393 E-MAIL:


MEDIA INQUIRIES: Ms Jessica Bridges-Palmer: 020 7219 0724