Joint Committee on Human Rights press notice no. 23

Session 2006-07 26 March 2007

Forthcoming Publications

Meaning of Public Authority under the Human Rights Act; and

Treatment of Asylum Seekers

The Joint Committee on Human Rights (JCHR) publishes its Ninth Report of Session 2006-07, Meaning of Public Authority under the Human Rights Act, on Wednesday 28 March 2007 at 10.00am as House of Lords Paper HL 77, House of Commons Paper HC 410. There will be no embargoed advance copies of this Report.

The Committee will also publish its Tenth Report of Session 2006-07, Treatment of Asylum Seekers, House of Lords Paper HL 81, House of Commons Paper HC 60, on Friday 30 March 2007 at 00.01 hours. Embargoed advance copies of the Report will be available to the media and to witnesses from 11.00am on Wednesday 28 March.

The reports will be available from The Stationery Office (tel: 0870 600 5522), Parliamentary Hotline Lo-call 0845 7 023474, Email:, Internet:, TSO shops, The Parliamentary Bookshop, 12 Bridge Street, London SW1A 2JX (tel 020 7219 3890) and through good booksellers. They will also be on the Committee's website at the address below on the day of publication.


Mr Andrew Dismore MP (Labour, Hendon) (Chairman)
Lord Fraser of Carmyllie (Conservative)
Mr Douglas Carswell MP (Conservative, Harwich)
Lord Judd (Labour)
Nia Griffith MP (Labour, Llanelli)
Lord Lester of Herne Hill (Liberal Democrat)
Dr Evan Harris MP (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon)
The Earl of Onslow (Conservative)
Mr Richard Shepherd MP (Conservative, Aldridge-Brownhills)
Lord Plant of Highfield (Labour)
Mark Tami MP (Labour, Alyn & Deeside)
Baroness Stern (Cross-Bencher)

Clerks of the Committee: Mr Nick Walker (House of Commons) 020 7219 2797 and Mr Bill Sinton (House of Lords) 020 7219 5358

ENQUIRIES: 020 7219 2797/2467 FAX: 020 7219 8393 E-MAIL:


MEDIA INQUIRIES: Ms Jessica Bridges-Palmer: 020 7219 0724